2016 Colorado New Play Summit to be streamed live

Matthew Lopez 2016. Photo by John Moore
DCPA Theatre Company 2014-15 Playwright in Residence Matthew Lopez will lead a panel conversation opn playwriting that will be live streamed on Feb. 18. Photo by John Moore for the DCPA NewsCenter.

Three major events at The Denver Center for the Performing Arts’ 2016 Colorado New Play Summit will be livestreamed around the world by HowlRound, a peer-produced online TV network, between Feb. 14 and 19:

CNPS_Logo_2016 225Devised Work Panel with Third Rail Projects
Sunday, Feb. 14
9 a.m. PST (Los Angeles)
10 a.m. MST (Denver)
11 a.m. CST (Chicago)
Noon EST (New York)
Join the DCPA and Third Rail Projects, one of the foremost companies creating site-specific, immersive, and experiential dance theatre in the U.S, for a panel discussion on creating devised work. Third Rail Projects’ current productions include Then She Fell and The Grand Paradise. The DCPA is the first regional theatre in the country to commission Third Rail Projects, and together the companies are creating a new immersive piece that will premiere in May at a site to be announced.  

Dialogue on Dialogue Roundtable
Thursday, Feb. 18
6 p.m. PST (Los Angeles)
7 p.m. MST (Denver)
8 p.m. CST (Chicago)
9 p.m. EST (New York)
Join playwright Matthew Lopez (The Legend of Georgia McBride) and some of our acclaimed commissioned writers for a roundtable discussion about their writing processes, favorite first scenes, and more. After live scene readings, playwrights will give a glimpse inside the inspiration, frustration and “ah-ha!” moments of writing a script. Playwrights include: Pulitzer Prize winner Robert Schenkkan (All the Way, The 12, The Kentucky Cycle); Anne Garcia-Romero (Santa ConcepciónPaloma); and Susan Smith Blackburn nominee Lauren Yee (Samsara, in a word, The Hatmaker’s Wife).

Late Night Playwrights’ Slam
Friday, Feb. 19
8:30 p.m. PST (Los Angeles)
9:30 p.m. MST (Denver)
10:30 p.m. CST (Chicago)
11:30 p.m. EST (New York)
Tune in as playwrights from around the country debut excerpts brand-new works-in-progress in front of a live audience in the Jones Theatre. Featuring:

  • DCPA commissioned writers Rogelio Martinez, Kemp Powers, Robert Schenkkan, Regina Taylor, Lauren Yee
  • DCPA Playwright in Residence Matthew Lopez
  • Colorado playwright Andrew Hinderacker (with guest Brett Schneider)

WATCH LIVE FROM ANY EVENT ABOVE BY CLICKING HERE


About the Colorado New Play Summit
Hailed as a “a must-see stop for new-play development” by American Theatre Magazine, the Colorado New Play Summit has introduced 44 new plays, over half of which returned to the stage as full Theatre Company productions. Recent Summit World Premieres include Matthew Lopez’s The Legend of Georgia McBride (which made it’s Off-Broadway debut at the MCC Theater), Samuel D. Hunter’s The Whale, Eric Schmiedl’s adaptation of Kent Haruf’s Benediction, Catherine Trieschmann’s The Most Deserving, Marcus Gardley’s black odyssey, Karen Zacarias’s Just Like Us, Jeffrey Haddow and Neal Hampton’s Sense and Sensibility The Musical, and Dick Scanlan’s reimagined version of The Unsinkable Molly Brown.

CLICK HERE FOR MORE ON THE COLORADO NEW PLAY SUMMIT


About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer-produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world’s performing arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field.

CLICK HERE TO GO TO THE HOWLROUND HOME PAGE

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *