Winning DCPA student playwrights' plays performed

Video above: We talk with the two student playwrights whose works were fully staged by DCPA Education actors on June 11. 

DCPA Education‘s fourth annual Regional High-School Playwriting Workshop and Competition is a one-act playwriting competition designed for Colorado high schools. Its mission is to help high-school writers find and cultivate their authentic voices.

Each fall, local playwrights and DCPA Teaching Artists go out into schools statewide, conduct writing workshops and encourage students to submit one-act plays for the competition. This past year, 138 playwriting workshops were held in 46 Colorado high schools. More than 2,823 high-school students participated in those workshops, which were held in every school district in the Denver-metro area and in 15 counties around the state.

Student playwriting A total of 132 submissions were judged blindly. Ten were named as finalists. Four of those were chosen to be workshopped and have a staged reading at the 2017 Colorado New Play Summit in February. In previous years, one play has then been chosen for a full summer production by DCPA Education’s summer teen company. But this year, competition officials chose to advance two scripts to full stagings. The winning plays were Dear Boy on the Tree, written by Jasmin A. Hernandez Lozano of Vista Peak High School (pictured above), and Spilt Lava, written by Ryan McCormick of Fort Collins High School. Each play had two public performances on June 11 in the Conservatory Theatre.

Video: Our report from the 2017 Colorado New Play Summit

This video above includes interviews with the playwrights, Director Steven Cole Hughes and student actors Nathaniel Pagibigan, Madeleine Kee and Jacob Maki.

For information on next year’s competition, starting with school workshops in the fall of 2017, go to

Video by David Lenk and Avery Anderson for the DCPA NewsCenter.


Photo gallery: 2016-17 Student Playwriting

2017 Student Playwriting

To see more photos, click the forward arrow on the image above. All photos are downloadable for free and may be used for personal and social purposes with credit. Photos by John Moore for the DCPA NewsCenter.

2017 Regional High-School Playwriting Workshop and Competition Sponsors:
Robert and Judi Newman/Newman Family Foundation with matching gifts from The Ross Foundation, June Travis and Transamerica.

Our profiles of all 10 of the 2017 semifinalists:
Parker Bennett, Fossil Ridge High School
Corinna Donovan and Walker Carroll, Crested Butte Community School
Jasmin A. Hernandez Lozano, Vista Peak High School
Ryan Patrick McCormick, Fort Collins High School
Abby Meyer and Nic Rhodes, Fossil Ridge High School
Amelia Middlebrooks, Valor Christian High School
Samantha Shapard, Overland High School
Sarah Shapard, Overland High School
Daniela Villalobo, York International
Jessica Wood, Denver Christian School

More Colorado theatre coverage on the DCPA NewsCenter

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *